Manually Set Start Date?

A retirement planning tool is only as good as its assumptions and inputs. Share your thoughts or ask questions about the internals of the simulation, built in planner assumptions, or planner inputs.
Post Reply
mountainsoft
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 8:34 pm

Manually Set Start Date?

Post by mountainsoft » Fri Oct 05, 2018 5:32 pm

Is there any way to manually set the start date for the simulation?

It seems FRP always starts with the current date. I couldn't figure out a way to run simulations in the future with account values I expected at that time (instead of what FRP calculates from todays values)

jimr
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:48 pm

Re: Manually Set Start Date?

Post by jimr » Fri Oct 05, 2018 5:39 pm

I think the simplest way to do that is to replace the current age field with the age you'll be in the year you want the simulation to begin.

The downside is that any of the outputs that include a year instead of an age will be incorrect.

mountainsoft
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 8:34 pm

Re: Manually Set Start Date?

Post by mountainsoft » Fri Oct 05, 2018 5:43 pm

Yeah, I tried that, but couldn't wrap my head around the differences between real ages and future ages. Oh well, next year will be here soon enough. :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest