Question regarding the calculation logic

Post questions about how to use the planner, user inputs, how the planner works, and comments and suggestions.
sunilsflexplanner

Question regarding the calculation logic

Post by sunilsflexplanner »

I've been using this program for several years and find it one of more useful financial planning tools available. I ran a little experiment to understand the calculation logic better, and was confused about the results. I set up a simple set of 2 scenarios as follows:
Scenario 1:
  • Current age 66, Retirement age 66, Life expectancy 95
  • Inflation ave 3.0%, STD 0.0%
  • Tax rates 21% and 31%
  • Taxable portfolio value $1,000,000
  • Risk averse Investing style
  • Income $25,000 starting age 71, expenses $50,000 every year
  • Spending policy flexible
This scenario has a 100% success rate with a median ending value of $590k

Scenario 2 is identical except that I enter the initial balance as an additional cash flow instead of on the main input screen. I show it as $1M beginning and ending at Start of Plan. I expected to see a similar if not identical result (possibly shifted by a year). However, this scenario gives me a 0% success rate. The annual withdrawals are higher and the portfolio get's used up at age 88. What am I missing?

The reason for doing this was to create separate cash flows that I could tie back to the individual accounts for the assets my wife and I have. Thanks in advance for any enlightenment you can provide.
jimr

Re: Question regarding the calculation logic

Post by jimr »

The answer to your question depends on the type of cash flow you're using in additional inputs. Depending on how you do it, there are two reasons you might see a zero percent probability of success.

Case 1 - Using a "Taxable Savings" Cash flow in additional inputs.