Column descriptions for Detailed View Table?

Post questions about how to use the planner, user inputs, how the planner works, and comments and suggestions.
jn99

Column descriptions for Detailed View Table?

Post by jn99 »

Longtime user of FRP, first time posting. I'd just like to say this is a wonderful planning tool and the one I have been using for several years now. So glad I found it as the majority of online calcs just aren't particularly useful.

Anyway, on to my questions. I am trying now to really get my head around exactly what is in each of the columns in the Detailed Table View. I've read through the Planner Output page in the FAQ but it only has a brief description. Is this documented in detail anywhere?

In tandem with a description of all columns, I am trying to understand specifically the "% Expenses to Fund" and "Expenses to Fund" columns at the moment, as they aren't what I was expecting (if I understand them correctly). Starting with expenses equal to a 3% withdrawal rate and using the Risk Averse avg. return of 6%, std. deviation of 4.3 my % Expenses to Fund drops gradually across the first 10 years from 100 to 90%. If I understand these columns, that tells me that the returns are calculated at less than the expenses. I thought this must have something to do with the std. deviation impact to the portfolio so I set that to 0 and re-ran but still get the same basic results i.e. the % To Fund drops and I also do not see a 6% return reflected in the portfolio value as expected. In fact, it drops across the first 6 years, which I don't understand. With returns set to 6% and zero std. deviation, a WD rate equivalent to 3% of the starting portfolio, shouldn't the result be a roughly 3% gain each year?
jimr

Re: Column descriptions for Detailed View Table?

Post by jimr »